Oceansprings Mississippi History
Traditionally, Ocean Springs was celebrated as a historic city, as depicted in the re-enactments. The day is intended to celebrate the first day of summer and the beginning of a new year in the history of the city.
For a real treat, visit Ocean Springs in April and visit one of my favorite places in town, the Brew Brew Coffee House. Brew, a quaint café, is a great place for coffee, tea and a bit of history. I invite you to come out and experience the ocean's sources for yourself and for the history of the city and its people.
Here you can see the large bay that stretches from east to west along the Mississippi coast from east to west. Nearby is a newly built boat dock, accessible from the beach that leads to the Gulf of Mexico.
Old Fort Bayou is located north of Ocean Springs (OS), Biloxi Back Bay south and Fort Massachusetts, which was before the Civil War, is located on the west side of the bay at the mouth of Fort Boston Bay. There are two public jetties for fishing and crabbing, one end anchored and the other open to the public.
After France lost the Seven Years War in 1763 and ceded the North American colonies to Britain, Ocean Springs was part of British West Florida.
After Mississippi was admitted to the Union in 1817, a small village developed where people began to farm, fish and work in the timber industry. After joining Mississippi in 1817, the Ocean Springs region became part of American territory. The railroad came in 1870 and Ocean Springs became a wealthy spa town and reinvented itself for a few years as a historically oriented residential community. With the opening of a new railway line to St. Louis and New Orleans in 1880, Ocean Spring was on its way to becoming a thriving spa town.
Washington Avenue is still a must-see - visit tourist attractions in Ocean Springs and remember what it was and still is in the late 19th century.
The Biloxi Bay Bridge crosses the Mississippi River and connects Ocean Springs with the Gulf of Mexico as seen from the west side of Washington Avenue in the late 19th century. It continues to make its way through the historic district of the city, making it one of the most popular tourist destinations in Mississippi and a favorite destination for tourists and locals alike.
In addition to the rich history of the city, the Ocean Springs vacation rentals offer renters the opportunity to enjoy unique attractions along the Gulf Coast. To refresh the local history, residents can visit the Museum of Ocean Springs to see the exhibited artifacts that represent the history of our city. Opened in 2010, the museum tells the story of Ocean Springs through artifacts, historical photos and unique exhibits. The cemetery history collection is from the National Register of Historic Places in the State Department's National Cemetery System.
In addition to the museum, the Ocean Springs Museum of History also offers a variety of special events, including a special exhibit on the history of the Gulf Coast and the city.
The estate records are housed in the Jackson County, Mississippi, courthouse and are kept at the Ocean Springs Museum of History and Archives in Ocean City, Alabama.
The history that has been spun on the eastern shore of Biloxi Bay from the Indians to the French settlers makes this area unique. The unique small shops and restaurants are considered the most beautiful downtown towns along the Mississippi coast. A historic map of Fort Bayou is also available, showing the name of the original owner and his family.
The French king commissioned D'Iberville to explore the Gulf of Mexico and the eastern shore of Biloxi Bay, as well as the Mississippi. The expedition team located Ship's Island in the Gulf of Mexico and then found what is now known as Ocean Springs.
For years, the village on the east side of Biloxi Bay was known as "Biloxey" or "Biloxi." While the Native Americans inhabited the area, the abandoned area was also known as Old Bilocchy (later Bylocchies, after Bil Roxi) since the first settlement in the 18th century, when the settlement moved to its current location in Ocean Springs.
Ocean Springs was first discovered in April 1699 by a group of explorers who were searching the mouth of the Mississippi River under the authority of King Louis XIV. Heirs of Jean-Baptiste Carco, the land had been acquired and had its first use as AC in October 1849.
French-Canadian explorers and settlers, the abundance of seafood allowed them to thrive in the areas of Fort Maurepas and Old Biloxi. Marble springs with white marble baths drew tourists from around the country, including New York and Chicago, to Indian Springs and other springs and waters. The fishing village of East BiloXi, which became Ocean Springs in 1854, was one of the most popular tourist destinations in Mississippi and the nation.